On Air

WHL will limit international play this season

By: Harry Callaghan
Posted: September 9, 2021 04:54

League cites on-going border restrictions

Image - File

The Western Hockey League has made some changes to its early-season schedule to deal with ongoing border restrictions.

The league says teams in the BC Division will compete exclusively against other BC-based teams during October - and teams in the US Division will only compete against other US-based teams. The reason is non-essential bus travel between the US and Canada is currently prohibited.

The WHL previously announced that clubs in the Western Conference would only compete against each other during the 2021-22 regular season.

The 22-team league includes the Brandon Wheat Kings and Winnipeg Ice in Manitoba - and teams in BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Washington and Oregon. The regular season is set to begin on October 1st.

More information can be found on the WHL's website here: 

WHL announces series of changes to 2021-22 Western Conference Regular Season schedule – WHL Network 

Back to News